Bruce Smith was selected by the Technical Advisory Committee of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) to present the 2017 Thomas B. Deen Distinguished Lecture at their annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on Monday, January 9, 2017. His lecture was so well-received in January, he was asked to present it again at the TRB Annual Legal Workshop on Sunday, July 30, 2017. This is a tremendous honor and is reflective of Bruce’s career-long dedication to the law, transportation and ethics, the uniformly outstanding quality of his contribution to the legal profession and the transportation community at large, and the esteem in which he is held by his colleagues. Congratulations, Bruce! We’re all very proud of this honor being bestowed upon you.

In 1992, the TRB created a TRB Distinguished Lectureship to recognize the career contributions and achievements of an individual in the areas covered by TRB’s Technical Activities Division. In 2002, the TRB Executive Committee renamed this the Thomas B. Deen Distinguished Lectureship, in honor of the Board’s eighth Executive Director, who served with distinction from 1980 to 1994. The Honorees are invited to present overviews of their area of expertise, including the evolution, the present status, and the prospects for the future.

To view the announcement, please follow this link: TRB Annual Meeting


Thomas R. Buckner (Estate Planning and Probate) and Bruce S. Kramer (Civil Rights/First Amendment) were selected for inclusion in the 2016 edition of Mid-South Super Lawyers in their respective practice areas shown.

Super Lawyers is published annually by Thomson Reuters which selects its chosen attorneys using a rigorous, multistage process in which peer nominations and evaluations are combined with independent research. Each year, they invite lawyers to nominate the top attorneys they’ve personally observed in action. Thereafter, Thomson Reuters’ attorney-led research staff also searches for lawyers who have attained certain honors or results. Their researchers evaluate candidates by twelve indicators of peer recognition and professional achievement. Research evaluations are based upon information from a variety of on-line and database sources including law firm web sites, legal publications and information supplied by lawyers. We are proud of our members who are included in this prestigious publication


Congratulations to Henry Klein (retired) and John Dunlap who were honored by the University of Memphis, Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law Alumni Association as Pillars of Excellence for their contributions to the law and to the Memphis community. This annual award recognizes attorneys in the Memphis legal community who have made significant contributions in their civic and professional lives to the practice of law, have practiced 45 years or more, and have achieved general recognition that they possess the highest legal skills and ethical standards. They were recognized at a dinner in their honor on August 20, 2016, at the Holiday Inn, University of Memphis.


Apperson Crump was pleased to be an event sponsor of the inaugural Mary Wolff Memorial Golf Tournament on June 3, 2016 at The Links at Galloway. This tourney has been hosted annually by the Association for Women Attorneys. In recognition of her long time commitment to their organization and others, the AWA decided to rename their event in Mary’s honor. The proceeds will benefit:

  • The First Tee of Memphis, which teaches inner city children to play golf so they will experience the importance of hard work, patience, etiquette, and discipline;
  • The AWA Foundation Scholarship Fund, which provides scholarships to University of Memphis law students; and
  • The Women’s Foundation of Greater Memphis, which promotes programs that enable families living below the poverty line to become economically stable.